Sade / The Best of Sade
Artist Sade
Title The Best of Sade
Format CD
Released 1994
Label Sony
1. Your Love is King (3:41)
2. Hang on to Your Love (4:32)
3. Smooth Operator (4:21)
(R. St. John/Sade Adu)
4. Jezebel (5:30)
5. The Sweetest Taboo (4:38)
(Ditcham/Sade Adu)
6. Is it a Crime (6:23)
(Stuart Matthewman)
7. Never as Good as the First Time (3:59)
8. Love is Stronger Than Pride (4:20)
9. Paradise (3:39)
10. Nothing Can Come Between Us (3:56)
(Hale/Sade Adu/Stuart Matthewman)
11. No Ordinary Love (7:22)
12. Like a Tattoo (3:41)
13. Kiss of Life (4:12)
14. Please Send Me Someone to Love (3:43)
(Percy Mayfield)
15. Cherish the Day (6:19)
16. Pearls (4:33)
Notes 1994 Epic Records / Sony Music EK 66686 Artist Sade Album The Best of Sade Release Date 1994 1984-1993 Label Epic Time 73:50 Type Compilation Genre Styles R&B Urban Adult Contemporary Sophisti-Pop Review by Jason Elias By the time this was released in 1994, something unexpected happened. Sade's early work became classic and the later additions boasted even better vocals and songs that nicely improved on the theme. The timeless sound and class always exhibited makes Sade Adu and her band a no-brainer for an appealing compilation. Like Al Green's Greatest Hits, The Best of Sade doesn't detract from the original albums and is a marker of time, not the end of the act. The ice-princess demeanor and detached vocals worked perfectly for the mid-'80s singles and radio samples "Smooth Operator" and "Your Love Is King." The tracks from the make-or-break second album, Promise, seem less dolorous propped up and sequenced for a compilation. The sensual-to-a-fault "The Sweetest Taboo" and "Never As Good As the First Time" both retain their strength here. The songs from Stronger Than Pride - "Love Is Stronger Than Pride," "Nothing Can Come Between Us," and the great "Paradise" - all benefit from Ian Cooper's mastering job. This set also includes tracks from Sade's "comeback" CD, Love Deluxe, including "Kiss of Life" and "No Ordinary Love." As a bonus, The Best of Sade also includes a rare cover of "Please Send Me Someone to Love" from the Philadelphia soundtrack. Despite its riches, The Best of Sade doesn't include all of the best, since "Maureen" and or "Keep Looking" aren't here. It's a small complaint and The Best of Sade is a great overview. Tracks Title Composer Time 1 Your Love Is King Adu, Matthewman, Matthewman 3:41 2 Hang on to Your Love Adu, Matthewman 4:32 3 Smooth Operator Sade, Saint John 4:21 4 Jezebel Adu, Matthewman 5:30 5 The Sweetest Taboo Adu, Ditcham, Sade 4:38 6 Is It a Crime Adu, Hale, Matthewman 6:23 7 Never As Good As the First Time Adu, Matthewman 3:59 8 Love Is Stronger Than Pride Adu, Hale, Matthewman 4:20 9 Paradise Adu, Denman, Hale, Matthewman 3:39 10 Nothing Can Come Between Us Adu, Hale, Matthewman 3:56 11 No Ordinary Love Adu, Matthewman 7:22 12 Like a Tattoo Adu, Hale, Matthewman 3:41 13 Kiss of Life Adu, Denman, Hale, Matthewman 4:12 14 Please Send Me Someone to Love Mayfield 3:43 15 Cherish the Day Adu, Hale, Matthewman 6:19 16 Pearls Adu, Hale 4:33 Sade are: Sade Adu (vocals); Stuart Matthewman (guitar, saxophone); Andrew Hale (keyboards); Paul S. Denman (bass). Additional personnel includes: Leroy Osbourne, Jake Jacas (vocals); Gordon Hunte (guitar); Tony Pleeth (cello); Terry Bailey, Gordon Matthewman (trumpet); Pete Beachill (trombone); Dave Early, Martin Ditcham (drums, percussion); Paul Cooke, Trevor Murrell (drums); Karl Vanden