Dire Straits / Love Over Gold
Artist Dire Straits
Title Love Over Gold
Format CD
Released 1982
Label Vertigo
1. Telegraph Road (14:18)
(Mark Knopfler)
2. Private Investigations (6:46)
(Mark Knopfler)
3. Industrial Disease (5:50)
(Mark Knopfler)
4. Love Over Gold (6:17)
(Mark Knopfler)
5. It Never Rains (7:59)
(Mark Knopfler)
Notes Mark Knopfler : Vocals, Guitar Hal Lindes : Guitar Alan Clark : Keyboard John Illsley : Bass Pick Withers : Drums & Mike Mainieri : Vibes & Marimbas, Tracks 2 & 4 Ed Walsh : Synth Program All songs composed by Mark Knopfler Produced by Mark Knopfler Remastered by Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering Adding a new rhythm guitarist, Dire Straits expands its sounds and ambitions on the sprawling Love Over Gold. In a sense, the album is their prog-rock effort, containing only five songs, including the 14-minute opener "Telegraph Road." Since Mark Knopfler is a skilled, tasteful guitarist, he can sustain interest even throughout the languid stretches, but the long atmospheric instrumental passages aren't as effective as the group's tight blues-rock, leaving Love Over Gold only a fitfully engaging listen.